Gyaan & Goodbyes: Vasudev Mittal

How do you feel about graduating? How would you say your overall experience at IISER Mohali was?

It is quite emotional and exciting at the same time. My overall experience at IISER Mohali was awesome. This institute taught me everything I know today and helped me become a better researcher and a better person.


What sparked your interest in cosmology as a field of study?

Neil deGrasse Tyson’s ‘Cosmos’ introduced me to cosmology. Later, I received a copy of ‘A Brief History of Time’ in fifth grade. Back then, I did not understand it at all, so I waited for 7 years till I understood the physics better and comprehended what the book was about. I guess it was partly that thrilling wait of 7 years and partly the book which brought me into this field.


What factors influenced your decision of coming to IISER Mohali?

It was majorly the presence of a strong Astronomy research group that attracted me. Proximity to home and city life were contributing factors too.


What do you usually do in your leisure time?

I listen to music and follow national & international news in my free time. I also like to discuss science with people who don’t have a background in it – the field as a whole, and the way of thinking.


Could you share some memorable experiences from your 5 years here that you will cherish?

Well, the best thing that happened to me during my time here was my interactions with professors. I enjoyed discussing my views on different topics (ranging from research in cosmology, evolution and particle physics on the scientific end to political, historiographical and often campus-related issues). Many times I took a different stance on a topic. Yet, the professors here are quite receptive to my opinion and were never offended.  This is something I will cherish for life.


If you could go back in time and change something, what would it be?

I would like to change my approach towards studying my textbooks by focusing more on problem-solving instead of reading the chapters.


Reflecting on your journey, what valuable insights and lessons have you gained along the way?

Firstly, make some friends, enjoy your life and be happy. Secondly, the scientific community, in general, has different opinions on a research problem. In fact, there are very few things on which everyone agrees on. It’s important to stick to your belief about any open question, and at the same time, be open to the opinion of others. It will help you make progress in science.


Are there any funny or embarrassing incidents from your time here that you’d be willing to share?

There is one that I still remember quite well. On the admission day, I was sitting in LH5, waiting for my turn to get my documents verified. Suddenly, I was approached by a senior, who asked for my documents. He abruptly mentioned that my Class-X passing certificate was missing and that I should make the necessary arrangements to get it. (CBSE has started to provide a single marksheet-cum-passing certificate from the same year in which I passed my Class-X. Earlier, they used to hand out two separate documents for the purpose). I mentioned this to that senior and immediately, he started to counter my statement and the debate escalated to the point that he had to call Dean Academics to report the ‘act of indiscipline’. When the Dean arrived, he had a look at my marksheet and agreed that it was also a passing certificate as mentioned clearly in the document’s title. The look on that senior’s face is something that I cannot forget. We later became good friends, and whenever I call him now, I make sure to poke him with “I have my Class-X passing certificate with me”.


Could you provide an overview of your academic journey, the internships and opportunities you’ve pursued?

I have been working on my thesis topic since 2022. My first project was with a research group working on this problem. Then I followed up on it in 2023 through a DAAD-WISE fellowship. Finally, I did my thesis on this topic under Prof. Lewis. Apart from this problem, I have also worked as a Science Academies Summer Research Fellowship 2021 on Dark Energy and on two body problems in the summer 2020 project under Prof. Bagla in IISER Mohali. Overall, it was a really nice experience and I learnt a lot.


What are your goals and expectations for the future, both personally and professionally?

Joining academia.


As you prepare to graduate, what aspects of your life at IISER Mohali do you think you’ll miss the most?

Lectures and scientific seminars the most. And all the stuff that I did in hostels. (if you know, you know)


Lastly, what piece of advice would you give to your juniors?

Enjoy your college life. Do not miss out on your fun times here due to excessive focus on studies.


Interviewed by: Bhoomika B

Edited by: Archit Gandhi & Pranaya Chugh

Leave a comment