Gyaan & Goodbyes: Ishita Agarwal

When you got admission into IISER Mohali, what were your expectations for your next stage as a college student at IISERM? What did you have in mind? How were your early days as a freshman on a campus that is so diverse in its people and culture?

Well, I didn’t have any big montages of sorts. I was a bit too excited and anxious for that. I was excited about starting as a student here, the freedom – how I’d be on my own for the first time – but I was also very anxious about it.

On my first day here, I met people from different places, like Karnataka, Maharashtra, Kerala, and more. Initially, I faced a bit of a language barrier – I felt like my English was not as fluent as the others around me. So, I often stayed quiet and didn’t talk much. Also, being naturally introverted and shy, I spent most of my time in my room, especially in the beginning. Then I met my friends Vaishnavi and Aavni. They are from Kerala, so we could only speak in English with each other. By talking more with them, my English improved a lot, and I gradually became more comfortable. Soon, it wasn’t a barrier anymore. I was also able to talk to a lot more people. And that’s how it went from me being initially holed up in the room to eventually talking to many more people in a month’s time!


You’re pursuing biology right now. Have you always been inclined towards pursuing research in biology, or was it a new interest that IISERM had fostered in you? And how has your trajectory been from the journey of finding your interests to the place where you are right now?

I’ve always been more inclined towards research in biology. But I hadn’t, like, figured out my particular field of interest in biology. I knew I was interested in genetics and molecular biology, so I talked with Shravan sir about it. He suggested Rachna Ma’am‘s lab, and then I joined there for my first summer. COVID hit shortly after we’d arrived, right in our first year. During that time, I took many courses on Coursera – from many disciplines (we had free subscription from the institute then), like systematic and computational bio, and more. So my 1st summer was online, plus I had the Coursera stuff going on. There was one course on neuroscience which had me very interested. So, for my 2nd summer, I applied at NBRC (National Brain Research Centre) and got in. But then COVID’s second wave hit because of which I was confused about what to do next. I talked with a senior, and she suggested that I do more computation since I could use it for neuro, and it would also help me make good use of my time. And I got into computation. It’s been fun. And that’s how I’m doing computational neuro right now. Yeah, COVID twisted ways, but I’ve gotten here!


What has IISERM inculcated in you?

Well, whoever I am now, as a person, as a scientist, is because of this place. The first thing that comes to mind is the spirit of learning. Perhaps the most significant. I feel like I’ve been trained in such a way that now, new challenges in my learning no longer intimidate me. If there’s something new that comes up – a new skill or an unfamiliar concept – I don’t feel intimidated by it or have some sort of barrier from my side that makes me think I can’t do it. Whatever new comes my way, I’ve learnt to just take it in stride and to approach it with confidence – I know that I can do it within a few weeks or months by putting in some effort. I guess this learning spirit is one important trait I’ve gained from here. In addition to this, meeting people from different backgrounds has taught me perspectives. I’ve made lifelong friends here now and have valuable mentors who’ve helped me through a lot. So yes, this place has taught me a lot and shaped me in many ways.


What favourite memories from this place would you often revisit?

Ah, there’s so many. The long late-night walks. My friends and I would pluck fruits from the trees around; we’ve had oranges, mulberries, mangoes and tamarind. I’d pluck some jasmine for my room every day, and I’m addicted to that scent now. I wasn’t very active in the clubs here, but I participated in all of the festival celebrations – Ganesh Chaturthi, Onam, Lohri, Pongal, and Saraswathi Puja – and loved learning the stories behind them. I’d help with the decorations and the props. The festival celebrations were a lot of fun. I enjoyed them here. And I guess even the anxious all-nighters, and the time-remaining to slide-count ratio before exams deserve a mention too (wouldn’t call them my favourites though).


Any advice to your juniors?

I’d say be open to learning and trying out new things. Experimenting will help you find your interests better, what you like and what you don’t. I think it’s better to have an open mind than to have a rigid mind for your interests. Soak up what you can learn from the person before you. Core years of learning help a lot; you’d use some of it down the line. For my work now, I use linear algebra I learnt in my math core, and some physics too, for my MEG and EEG (Magneto- and Electro-encephalography) work. I don’t use chemistry much, but my knowledge of that isn’t wasted. So I guess it’s good to be open to learning things outside of your primary interests. The next thing is, to try and find that academic-social life balance. The stress can get difficult at times – it will, and when it does, talk to people. Your parents, friends and professors can help you out. It’s good to remember that it isn’t a complete cakewalk for anyone. There are highs and lows. And it could feel like you’re in it alone. But the truth is, you’re not. Particularly stressing about your exams or some assignment? Guess who else is? Your friends, of course!


Interviewed by: S Arudhra

Edited by: Archit Gandhi & Sophia Iyyu

Leave a comment